Kenyan Yego Hillary Wins 31st Athens Classic Marathon

Greece Classic Marath_Hera

Thousands of runners created an amazing image of Athens, Greece today!

The winner of 31st Athens Classic Marathon is Yego Hillary Kipkogei 2:13.50. Second Kimeli Dicson (2:14:40) and third Rutoh David Kipkorir (2:14:47). First Greek Athlete is Meroussis.

“It was the first time that I participated in the Athens classic marathon. I am very happy that I managed to achieve my personal best time. The weather conditions were very good,” Yego said.

In women division 1st is Rotich Otich Nancy Joan (2:41:38), 2nd is Stanko Svitlana (2:42:03) and third is Magda Gazea (2:46:07).

The men results for the 10 Km Road Race are: 1. Iadgarov (32:28), 2. Drossos (32:35) 3. Dimitrakis (32:58). Results for women are: 1.Karakatsani (35:40), 2. Kefala (36:15), 3. Astropekaki (37:00).

Athens Marathon_winersAt the 5 Km Road Race winner is Nakopoulos with finish time 15:48. Mylonas achieved a result of 15:53 and Chatzaki finished in 15:54. In women the rank is: 1. Mperdoussi (17:58), 2. Michailova (18:49) and 3. Chrysaidi (19:09).

Some 17,000 runners from 102 countries took part in the classic marathon which began just a short distance from the tumulus erected for the Greek dead of the battle of Marathon and finishing at the all-marble Panathenaic Stadium, site of the first modern Olympics in 1896.

According to legend, the 42km distance from Marathon to Athens was first run by Pheidippides, an Athenian messenger who, in 490 BC, dashed to the democratic city states of Athens and Platea to announce Athens’ victory over Persian empire soldiers, before dying of exhaustion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.