Greek Election Final Results: SYRIZA Victorious; Golden Dawn Third


With 99.86% of the ballots counted, SYRIZA has been declared the winner of the general election that took place last Sunday in Greece. SYRIZA received 36.34% of the votes and 149 seats in the Greek parliament.

New Democracy, the party of former Prime Minister Antonis Samaras, received 27.81% and elected 76 MPs.

Far-right Golden Dawn became Greece’s third political power gathering 6.28% of the votes and 17 seats in the parliament, although its leader Nikos Michaloliakos and many of its MPs have been accused of running a criminal gang and are currently in prison.

To Potami, a newly formed party by former journalist Stavros Theodorakis, received 6.05% of the votes and 17 seats in the parliament, while the Greek communist party won 15 seats with a 5.47%.

The Independent Greeks (ANEL), the party headed by Panos Kammenos and a partner in the new still to be formed Greek coalition government gathered 4.75% of the voters and elected 13 MPs.  PASOK Socialists won 13 seats in the Greek parliament with 4.68% of the vote.

See all the full Greek election results on the interactive infographic below: