Zoe Konstantopoulou, Youngest President of Greek Parliament with Record 235 Votes

    kwnst-vouli-1070Zoe Konstantopoulou will be the new President of the Greek Parliament after receiving a record 235 votes. Konstantopoulou will be the second woman to preside over the Greek House after Anna Psarouda-Benaki in 2004. She is also the youngest ever elected as President of the Greek Parliament.

    The new president of the House broke the record held by the previous House president, New Democracy’s Evangelos Meimarakis, who was elected with 223 votes. Now she has the record of more votes a president of parliament received after the restoration of democracy in Greece in 1974.

    The ballot was secret and a total of 298 members of parliament voted. Konstantopoulou received 235 votes, there were 61 blank votes and 2 invalid.

    On Sunday, the new Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras will present the new government program. On Tuesday at midnight, the new government will ask for a vote of confidence from parliament and on Friday, February 13, the first ballot for election of President of the Hellenic Republic will be cast.