Cypriot Parliament President Congratulates Greek President Pavlopoulos for his Election


Cypriot Parliament President Yiannakis Omirou congratulated Prokopis Pavlopoulos for his election as the new President of the Hellenic Republic. As he highlighted, Cyprus is looking forward to the continuation of the two countries’ common course.

In his congratulatory message to the newly elected Greek President, Omirou noted that “Cyprus looks forward to your presidency with confidence.” Furthermore, as he said, Cyprus is looking forward to continuing the common course on the Cyprus problem with Greece in order to end the illegal Turkish occupation and achieve a solution based on the principles of international and European law.

Pavlopoulos, the candidate nominated by the ruling SYRIZA party and Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras’ favorite, was elected yesterday as the next President of the Hellenic Republic. His nomination was also supported by the New Democracy party, to which he belongs, and junior coalition partner Independent Greeks (ANEL). The second candidate, nominated by opposition party “To Potami” and supported by PASOK was Nicos Alivizatos.

“Yes” to Pavlopoulos’ election voted a total of 233 MPs, while 30 MPs voted in favor of Alivizatos. A total of 32 votes were blank. Five MPs were not present during the vote.