Four-Party Coalition Government in Turkish-Occupied Northern Cyprus

Turkish Cypriot President Mustafa Akıncı approved a new four-party coalition government on Feb. 2.

The Republican Turkish Party (CTP) leader Tufan Erhurman will be the prime minister of the  new coalition government, taking over from Huseyin Ozgurgun.

Though his National Unity Party (UBP) won 35.6 percent of the vote in the Jan. 7 elections, Ozgurgun was unable to form a coalition government, and on Jan. 24 he passed that mandate onto Erhurman.

The UBP won 21 seats in parliament, while the CTP gained 12 seats with 17 percent of the vote.

Joining Erhurman’s CTP in the coalition are the People’s Party (HP) with nine seats in parliament, and the Communal Democracy Party (TDP) and the Democratic Party (DP) with three seats apiece.

Twenty-six out of the parliament’s 50 seats are needed to form a coalition.

(Source: Anadolu Agency)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.