Athens to Host Basketball Champions League Final Four

The city of Athens has been awarded the hosting of the 2018 Basketball Champions League Final Four.

Four teams, representing four different countries, will be participating in the pinnacle event of Basketball Champions League’s second season which will be played over the first weekend of May in the Greek capital. The games will be played in the OAKA Olympic Indoor Hall (18’000 seating capacity), regular home court of AEK.

The Greek host, currently in the 3rd position of the Greek League, is having an impressive year, recently winning the Greek Cup against Olympiacos, finishing the Regular Season of the Basketball Champions League at the 3rd position of Group C, and then eliminating the Czech champions, CEZ Nymburk, and the French runners-up, SIG Strasbourg, in the Round of 16 and the Quarter-Finals.

The other three qualified clubs complete a very competitive Final Four line-up with AS Monaco, currently in 1st place in the French League (tied with SIG Strasbourg) and recent Leaders Cup winners, MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg, currently 3rd of the German BBL, and UCAM Murcia, currently in the 10th position of the Spanish ACB.

The Semi-Finals will be played on 4 May, with the Third-Place Game and Final scheduled for 6 May. The draw determining the pairings will be held next week, on Thursday 12 April in Athens.