Greece’s Acropolis Rally Roars into Action

Friday marks the opening leg of the EKO Acropolis Rally, one of the oldest and toughest on the world rally circuit.

The rally, which began with an official ceremony under the Acropolis, will be completed on Sunday and is part of the European Rally Championship schedule.

Due to a mix of rough, twisty mountain stages coupled with blistering heat and choking dust, the Acropolis Rally is considered one of most challenging for drivers.

Cars have to be built with extra sturdiness in order to cope with the fast but rock-strewn stages. Drivers and co-drivers also have to contend with the pounding terrain and high summer temperatures which often reach 50°C in the cockpit.

Many famous drivers have won this event including Walter Rohrl, Bjorn Waldegard, Ari Vatanen, Stig Blomqvist, Juha Kankkunen, Carlos Sainz and Colin McRae.

Friday’s opening leg features two stages: SSS Hippodrome and Thiva, the event’s shortest and longest at 2.60 and 30.53 kilometers respectively.