FYROM Parliament Debates Name Change

FYROM PM Zoran Zaev. Photo: AMNA

The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) on Sunday moved closer to changing the country’s name to The Republic of North Macedonia. Sixty-seven MP’s in the 120-member Parliament voted in favor of a second required amendment.

The government of Zoran Zaev submitted four proposed revisions to the country’s constitution, per their June agreement with Greece.

In order for the name change to be finalized, two-thirds of FYROM’s Parliament will need to back the constitutional revisions by the end of January.

After the ratification of the Prespa agreement in FYROM’s House, proceedings will start in the Greek parliament. In order for the name change to become official, the Greek parliament must also ratify the agreement.