Greek Parliament Will Vote Friday on FYROM’s NATO Accession

The Greek parliament will vote on Friday the protocol which paves the way for the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia’s (FYROM) accession to NATO, it was announced on Tuesday.

The ratification of the protocol will signal that Greece concurs with FYROM’s accession to the alliance. The newly-named country will join NATO under the name the “Republic of North Macedonia.”

The protocol will be brought before the relevant parliamentary committee on Thursday.

A debate in the plenary and a subsequent vote will be held on Friday, according to a statement issued by Parliamentary President Nikos Voutsis.

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg tweeted on Saturday that the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) will sign its accession protocol to NATO on Wednesday.

Speaking in Sofia, Bulgaria on Monday, FYROM Prime Minister Zoran Zaev said that the entire Balkans will have prosperity and lasting peace after his country joins NATO.

All twenty-nine NATO member nations must ratify FYROM’s membership before it can join the alliance.