UPDATED March, 20: The New World of Travel Bans and Restrictions Due to Coronavirus: Full List By Country

Earth Illustration by Arkas

As the world works to slow the spread of coronavirus, countries have imposed a variety of travel restrictions, including border shutdowns.

The measures range from suspending international flights and banning travelers from impacted countries, to requiring citizens or foreign nationals to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

As Greece closed its borders to non-EU citizens as of 6:00 a.m. on Wednesday, March 18, 2020, officials across the globe say the travel bans are critical to containing the rapidly spreading coronavirus.

The following is a running list of travel restrictions compiled from government agencies and elected officials. For other countries, check the country-specific U.S. Embassy website.

North America

United States

All foreign nationals from China, Iran and certain European countries are barred from entering the United States. This ban includes anyone who visited these countries within the 14 days prior to their U.S. trip.

The targeted European countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. President Donald Trump later added the United Kingdom and Ireland to this list.

U.S. citizens are allowed to return home but must fly into 13 designated airports and undergo “enhanced entry screening.”

On March 18, President Donald Trump announced that it would close its northern border with Canada “by mutual consent” to non-essential traffic such as tourists and other visitors.


On March 16, Canada announced it was closing its borders and denying entry to anyone who is not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, except for immediate family members of Canadian citizens, aeroplane crew members, diplomats, and US citizens.

On March 18, the US and Canada said they were closing their border to all non-essential traffic. Trade is not affected, the countries’ leaders said.

Most international flights to Canada will be directed through four airports starting on March 18. Domestic flights and those arriving from the Caribbean, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Mexico and the US will be exempted.


Mexico currently does not have any travel restrictions in place.

South America


With more than 55 confirmed cases, Argentina announced on March 15 that it would close its borders to all non-residents for at least two weeks, and all flights from the United States and Europe would be cancelled starting March 16.


Brazil decided on March 19 to restrict entry of foreign visitors at land borders with Argentina, Paraguay, Bolivia, Peru, Colombia, Suriname and French Guiana, following a similar restriction at the Venezuelan border.

The restriction will last for 15 days and will not apply to foreigners with permanent residence in Brazil, diplomats and international agency officials, as well as trucks transporting goods, the presidential chief of staff office said.


Starting from March 18, Bolivia banned travel from Europe’s Schengen zone, the UK, Ireland and Iran. Previously, it had barred travellers from Spain, China, South Korea and Italy. The country has also implemented strict border measures, including medical screenings.

The measures will remain in place until March 31, the government said.


On March 14, Paraguay suspended flights from Europe until at least March 26. It has also restricted traffic across Friendship Bridge, which connects the country with Brazil, to authorized cargo traffic.


European Union

President Ursula von der Leyen announced Monday on Twitter that she was restricting all nonessential travel to the European Union for 30 days. Exemptions include family members of European nationals, diplomats, “essential staff” who are addressing the coronavirus contagion and people transporting goods.


Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison said on March 19 that the country’s borders will close to all visitors, except for citizens and permanent residents and their close family members.

Morrison declared a “human biosecurity emergency” on March 18 and said the country’s citizens should abandon all overseas travel.

“We are upgrading the travel ban on Australians to level four for the entire world. That is the first time that has ever happened in Australia’s history,” he said, adding it is “an indefinite ban”.

On March 15, Morrison had said international travellers arriving in the country would need to isolate themselves for 14 days, and foreign cruise ships would be banned for 30 days.



People traveling to Beijing, Shaghai, Guangdong province and Sichuan province will be quarantined for 14 days in a Chinese facility if they have recently visited countries with “severe outbreaks” such as South Korea, Japan, Iran and Italy.


On March 18, India said it would suspend the vast majority of visas to the country. Millions of foreign nationals of Indian origin, who are traditionally granted visa-free access, will now also need to apply.

The advisory said anyone with a “compelling reason” to travel to the country could contact their nearest Indian mission. It also urged Indian nationals to avoid all non-essential travel abroad.

On March 17, India had suspended issuing visas to citizens of France, Spain and Germany until further notice. Such restrictions were already in place for citizens of China, Italy, Iran, Japan and South Korea – the five countries worst hit by the outbreak of the virus.

National airline Air India said on Wednesday it was suspending flights to Italy and South Korea until March 28 and March 25, respectively. India has also closed a border with neighbouring Myanmar.


Foreign nationals with a Chinese passport issued by Hubei or the Zhejiang provinces and those who have visited Iran, Italy, San Marino or South Korea in the last 14 days are banned from entering the country.


Turkey’s land borders with Greece and Bulgaria have been closed to entry and exit of passengers as a measure against the coronavirus outbreak, state broadcaster TRT Haber said on Wednesday.

The government is suspending flights to and from several countries, including Germany, France, Spain, Norway, Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, China, South Korea, Iran and Iraq.


Travelers who have been in the United States in the past 14 days will be subject to “self-monitoring and reporting requirements” upon arriving in Thailand. Additionally, travelers from Iran, Italy, China, Korea, Hong Kong and Macao must submit proof to their airline at check-in that they tested negative for coronavirus. They must also show proof of a health insurance policy with coverage of at least $100,000.


As of March 12, foreign nationals are banned from entering the country. The government will make an exception for foreigners who can prove they have a place where they can self quarantine for two weeks. However, that exception does not include foreign nationals from China, South Korea, Thailand, Italy, Macao, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and Egypt.

Saudi Arabia

As of March 15, all international flights to and from Saudi Arabia have been suspended for two weeks.


South Africa

The country has imposed a travel ban on foreign nationals from “high-risk countries” including the United States, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United Kingdom and China starting March 18.


The Ministry of Health in Kenya announced on Twitter on March 15 that the country was banning all travelers from countries that have reported coronavirus cases.


In a March 16 update, the government of Morocco announced it was suspending all international travel in and out of Morocco.