Greece Excluded from UK’s Quarantine Exemption List

Greece, along with the U.S., is excluded from a list of around 60 countries that English holidaymakers can visit without needing to self-isolate on their return, London announced on Friday.

In a BBC radio interview, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the US is not included as “they have got very high numbers of infections”, while Greece does not feature as it has banned flights from the UK until July 15.

Quarantine restrictions for people returning to or visiting England from destinations such as Spain, France, Italy and Germany will be lifted from July 10.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office will exempt a number of countries from its advisory against all non-essential travel from Saturday.

Around 60 countries and overseas territories are on the UK Government’s initial list for lifting quarantine restrictions, which will be published later today.